Roll of Honour

Roll of Honour

Inscription below the Memorial Window erected in East Retford Parish Church and dedicated on the 21st May, 1921: 

” Remember ye with Thanksgiving and with all Honour before god and man the Officers and men of the Notts Sherwood
Rangers Yeomanry who gave their lives for King and Country in the Great War, 1914-19, to whose memory this window
is dedicated.”


Trp. R. H. Aherne Trp. T. Brown
” A. Aram ” G. B. Burton
” A. Atkinson ” W. A. A. Burton
” J. W. Barnes ” E. Charter
” C. Baker Sergt. C. Chapman
Cor. H. Bartle Cor. J. Chapman
Trp. J. Bellamy Lt. R. W. Clarke
” C. G. Belshaw Trp. E. Clarke
” P. C. Biffin ” P. Clayton
Lt. W. A. Birchall ” M. H. E. Colton
Trp. T. E. Bond ” T. W. Cragg
” A. E. Booth Cor. D. D’Ascanio
” T. A. Booth Trp. J. E. Davies
” J. Bradley ” H. Day
” W. Broome ” G. Dobbs
” H. Dyer ” R. McCready
” A. Farr Lt. J. N. MacRae
Capt. J. E. Ford Trp. R. Marsden
Trp. E. R. S. Foster ” R. Martin
Cor. E. Frisby Lt. C. G. Mawhood
Sergt. J. Gallimore Trp. J. Mellish
Sergt. G. Gill Col. Sir J. Milbanke,Bart., V.C.
Trp. A. Glew Trp. H. Millns
” J. Gregory ” W. B. Mellars
” A. Green Cor. G. H. Moore
” D. H. Green Trp. G. E. Morris
” J. H. Guy ” W. Moss
Sergt. F. Harrison ” T. Myers
Lt. J. C. F. Harter ” T. Needham
Trp. Hazle ” C. R. Nickson
” A. C. Heald ” G. Oldfield
Capt. L. G. Heath ” F. Page
Trp. R. Hemsworth ” R. Pascoe
” T. Henshaw Cor. T. Phillips
” A. R. Holland Trp. F. Pickard
Sergt. F. Hopkinson ” S. W. W. Pickering
Trp. T. C. Huckerby ” J. W. Pierrepont
” G. Hunt ” E. L. Plant
” G. H. Johnson Lt. W. A. Porkess
Major P. N. Kent Sergt. A. Ransley
Trp. F. H. Kirtland Trp. A. Robinson
” E. A. Knight Lt. A. C. Roxburgh
Capt. R. C. Layton Lt. -. Rickards
Sergt. W. Leeman Trp. A. Sanderson
Trp. T. Lister ” J. J. Seagrave
” G. N. Lyte Sergt. W. Swann
” W. H. Seaston Trp. F. Taylor
Cor. E. Sewards ” F. Thomas
Sergt. H. Sheldon ” J. Thompson
Trp. C. F. L. Sheppard Maj. J. S. Thorpe, M.C.
” A. G. Simpson Trp. D. D. Walker
” H. Slack ” W. Webster
” H. Sledmore ” C. Whiteland
” P. M. Smith Sergt. E. Whiten
Lt. T. Smith Trp. W. Whiten
Lt. T. R. Smith Cor. C. Whitworth
Trp. W. H. Smith Trp. S. Whysail
” E. Snell Sergt. H. E. Woods
” A. Stainland Trp. C. W. Young
Lt. M. J. Stevenson
Lt. W. E. Stockdale


Col. A. E. Whitaker C.B.E.
Lt.Col. H. Thorpe D.S.O.
Lt.Col. W. H. Wiggin D.S.O. and Bar.
Lt.Col. The Hon. F. V. Willey C.M.G.,C.B.E.,M.V.O.
Lt.col. L. H. C. Hatton M.C.
Major G. K. M. Mason D.S.O.
Major H. Tallents D.S.O.
Major R. J. Baddeley M.C.
Major T. B. Olive M.C.
Major J. S. Thorpe M.C.
Captain M. T. Waterhouse M.C.
Captain H. Perowne M.C.
Captain R. H. Allen M.C.
Captain E. J. Moss M.C.
Lieut. S. Wootton M.C.
Captain R. C. Clayton Cross of a Chevalier of the Legion of Honour
Captain J. R. Abdy Italian Silver Medal for Military Valour
R.S.M. Jackson, J. D.C.M.
S.S.M. East, T. D.C.M. and Medaille Militaire
S.S.M. Heathershaw, W. F. D.C.M.
S.S.M. Tompkins, J. J. D.C.M.
Sergt. Denman, J. A. D.C.M.
Sergt. Bailey, L. D.C.M.
Corp. Law, C. G. D.C.M.
Pte. Moore, E. T. G. D.C.M.
Sergt. Bower, W. R. M.M.
Sergt. Smith, W. H. M.M.
Sergt. Walster, W. A. M.M.
Sergt. Woodcock, J. M.M. and Serbian Cross With Swords
Corp. Spring, S. M.M.
Corp. Wright, H. M.M.
Corp. Thornton, R. M.M. and Medaille Militaire
Tptr. Timmons, E. M.M.
Pte. Bradley, J. M.M.
Corp. Crossby, E. Serbian Medal
Corp. Ward, H. Italian Medal


Comments are closed.